PDA

View Full Version : The End of Necromancy

sun_tzu
2007-03-02, 05:30 PM
I'm no expert on how magic works in D&D, so my apologies if I'm saying something monumentally stupid here...
But, considering that the undead are powered by negative energy, what would happen if someone, somehow, managed to "lock" the plane of negative energy, even temporarily? Would undead throughout the multiverse crumble to dust?

Druid
2007-03-02, 05:33 PM
I don't think thay need a constant link to it. If so then wouldn't undead die within an anti magic field? Incidently, I've always wondered why constructs don't.

Quietus
2007-03-02, 05:50 PM
From what I remember, they DO have a very minor connection to the Negative Energy plane. Personally, I'd say that it is similar to food - they can go a certain amount of time without that energy, but if that plane were locked for long enough, they could "starve" from lack thereof. It would also shut down a lot of things like Inflict spells and the like.

Yuki Akuma
2007-03-02, 05:52 PM
I don't think thay need a constant link to it. If so then wouldn't undead die within an anti magic field? Incidently, I've always wondered why constructs don't.

Constructs (or, at least, golems) aren't powered by magic. They're powered by bound elementals.

Quirinus_Obsidian
2007-03-02, 05:54 PM
Yah; as much as we hate to say it; PCs. NPCs, etc. need negative energy. If the world (Eberron, Faerun, what have you) were filled with nothing but Positive energy; it would end. The center of the Multiverse is supposed to have elements from all of the different energy, alighment, etc planes. Cutting off a Fire elemental from the Elemental Plane of Fire would not kill it; I would rule that it would severly weakn it. Same goes for Undead, Celetials, etc that are "extraplanar".