PDA

View Full Version : DM Help First time running Forgotten Realms!!!

Ichneumon
2014-11-19, 01:30 PM
Hello everyone,

I'm planning on running my first game set in the Forgetten Realms soon, when we switch to the rules of 5e. Although I'm not new at being a DM, I am new at running a campaign in a published campaign setting (instead of a custom one). Since I am not entirely familiar with Forgotten Realms yet, I was hoping you guys could give me some tips and advise (as well as maybe useful links) on how to run Forgotten Realms as well as some feedback on the first adventure I'd thought out:

Adventure idea:
I'm thinking about starting the campaign somewhere in the Moonsea area and having the players eventually slowly moving more North, through the bloodstone lands to the great glacier.

I haven't decided yet on the town, but this was what I've currently thought of for the first adventure:

The players have been in one of the cities around the Moonsea for a few weeks now and they are approached by a wealthy merchant, who asks them for help, in exchange for a lot of money of course. She explains that her son has been captured by a group of slavers half a year ago and that together with an experienced bounty hunter she has been tracking the slaver down for the past few months. They suspect he has arranged to meet up with another group very soon and trade a couple of slaves, including her son, and she needs the adventurers to help ambush them and prevent that.

When the group agrees, they meet up with the bounty hunter as well. He is a strong guy, haven't decided yet on the race, dwarf or maybe a Krinth. He is a humorless and somewhat gloomy persoon. An ex-slave, who now spends him time tracking down slavers and mapping the illegal trade-routes of slaves throughout Faerun, hoping that will these maps of the routes, it would be easier to capture them, make the transport more difficult and put an end to the illegal practice.