PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Dashing Swordsman (WIP, Feedback Wanted)

miner3203
2015-05-08, 06:27 PM
Hi Playgrounders,

This is my take on the Dashing Swordsman class for 5e. It is based off of Elan (OOTS), Captain Jack Sparrow (PotC), Inigo Montoya (TPB), and Captain Jack Harkness (DW).

This is my first time attempting to homebrew a class, so I would like to request any feedback, no matter how much it criticizes the class. Thanks!

The Dashing Swordsman

An elf flourishes his blade, throwing his opponent off balance with his smooth display of skill. A pirate captain swings across the water, yelling a battle-cry and rallying his crew. A militia guard shouts at a fleeing bandit; the force of her yell stops the robber in his tracks.

The dashing swordsman fights with strength of personality instead of raw force or dexterous movement. They are generally more refined than fighters, rogues, and even paladins. Dashing swordsmen are usually found as lone, honorable duelists or leading a crew of others whom they trust.

Level
Proficiency
Special Abilities
Taunting Blows

+2
Fighting Style, Strength of Personality
-

+2
Taunting Blows

+2
Dashing Archetype

+2
Ability Score Improvement

+3
Extra Attack

+3
Dramatic Entrance

+3
Dashing Archetype Feature

+3

+4
Evasion

+4
Inspired Personality

+4
Extra Attack (2)

+4

+5

+5
Undaunted Courage

+5
Iron Will

+5

+6
Wordless Taunt

+6

+6

+6
Taunting Mastery

Class Features:

Hit Points:
HP: 1d10 per Dashing Swordsman level
Hit Points at first level: 10+ your Constitution modifier
Hit Points at higher levels 1d10 (or 6) + your Constitution modifier per Dashing Swordsman level after 1st

Proficiencies:
Armor: Light armor
Weapons: Simple Weapons, Martial Weapons with the Finesse property
Saving Throws: Dexterity, Charisma
Skills: Choose three from Acrobatics, Athletics, Insight, Perception, Performance, and Persuasion

Equipment