PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Help me balance a homebrew Gorilla race

Cadburylion
2015-05-31, 05:32 AM
Hello everyone!

I'm a bit new to D&D (having played one long campaign in Pathfinder, and probably 30 hours of 5e), and am performing as the Dungeon Master in 5e for my brothers' first time playing.

One of them is playing the Dragonborn race, but his favorite animal is a Gorilla and wants to play as a Gorilla humanoid. Using the Dragonborn race from the PHB as a template, I quickly came up with the following (lacking finalized names and flavor). Please help me balance it!

Gorilla Humanoid (calling it a Simian for now)

+2 Strength
+1 Constitution
Speed: 30
Size: Medium
Ragepound: You can us your action to make a leap attack at a nearby enemy. When you use your ragepound, you leap up to 15 feat and pound a creature with your simian fists. Target creature must make a saving throw. The DC for this saving throw = 8 + your Constitution modifier + your proficiency bonus. A creature takes 2d6 damage on a failed save and is knocked prone, and half as much damage on a successful one and is not knocked prone. The damage increases to 3d6 at 6th level, 4d6 at 11th level, and 5d6 at 16th level. After you use your ragepound, you can't use it again until you complete a short or long rest.
Languages: You can speak, read, and write Common and Simian. Simian script is hieroglyphic, and the spoken language sounds similar to the grunts and screeches of gorillas, which prevents most other races from understanding it.
You have advantage on saving throws against grapple effects.
You have proficiency in the Acrobatics skill.

eleazzaar
2015-05-31, 08:57 AM
Since you can only attack one enemy at a time, while the dragonborn can attack everybody in their cone. However, you do inflict "prone" which is a nasty status.

You need to mention what kind of saving throw victim of ragepound needs to make,