PDA

View Full Version : D&D 3.x Other Homemade druid variant, too powerful??

Xailiax
2015-07-26, 09:44 PM
Hello all, other than my salutation post this is my first time posting here so sorry if this is in the wrong place!!

Have a character in mind for a friends campaign that's a druid, spells mostly towards buffing and healing his animal companion, and otherwise focuses on ranged combat.

One with Humanity(humanoids in general, not just human specifically.): This druid believes that the humanoid form is just as much a thing of nature as the trees and animals of his forest homeland. He gives up the ability to take on animal forms in exchange for more sound physical prowess.

Effect: This druid loses the ability to use the Wild Shape class feature but gains Base Attack Bonus progression as a Fighter.

This is my friends first time DMing so I don't want to do anything to overpower his campaign. Personally I think I'd be giving up more than I'm gaining because wild shape is pretty darn powerful, but it just doesn't fit the image I have for this character, nor do any of the other Druid variants that give it up.

Thoughts or concerns?

Network
2015-07-26, 10:01 PM
I assume this is only an option for druids of level 5+ right?

Adam1949
2015-07-26, 10:06 PM
With a single action, I would say that you managed to drop the Druid down from Tier 1 to low Tier 2, possibly even high Tier 3.

Part of what makes the Druid so powerful is their Divine Magic, while the other major part is Wildshape. So, in doing this, you're nerfing the Druid hard. Not that this is a bad thing; indeed, your party will probably thank you for not stealing the spotlight later, especially if you have a Fighter on your team.

Xailiax
2015-07-26, 11:58 PM
I assume this is only an option for druids of level 5+ right?

That wasn't the plan, the physical training focus would sort of have to be a lifelong thing, wouldn't make too much sense if the druid suddenly got incredibly buff, @ least not to me.

Xailiax