PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Advice on dealing with a large group

Almaseti
2015-08-25, 10:15 PM
As the title says, I'm currently running a game with a grand total of (count them) NINE players. It's my first time running a game, and it's not going too badly (despite a number of things) I've mostly been doubling the number enemies to keep the players from steamrolling encounters, but that makes everything very, very slow. Especially since we game in the evening after work, we can really only get through one encounter per session, which seems too slow to me.

Does anyone have ideas about how to speed up encounters or keep the players from steamrolling encounters without risking accidental character death? (One character already got killed by a spiked log trap. Yes, on my very first session running.) There will also be encounters later where doubling the number of enemies wouldn't make logical sense.

The adventure path I'm running is Reign of Winter for Pathfinder, if anyone has general advice about that path, I'm more than happy to hear it.

Broken Crown
2015-08-26, 12:00 AM
As you've discovered, one of the biggest pitfalls for a large group is that combat rounds take forever. Past a certain point, players' attention wavers, they lose track of whose turn it is, they start chatting amongst themselves, when their turn comes up they don't know what's going on and have to be brought up to speed before they can decide what to do... and this problem just compounds itself until the game practically grinds to a halt.

One approach would be to use an hourglass or other timer, to give each player a strict limit on how much time they have to decide what to do. If they run out of time, they lose their action. This has two advantages:

1) It necessarily puts an upper limit on how long the turns take, speeding up play. This reduces the opportunity for the players to get bored or distracted.