PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Gun Mage or Magitech gunner

Redfil09
2015-12-21, 08:33 PM
After reading a few ideas about the Gunslinger or Gun Mage, I realized that most people don't like to mix gunpower in a High Fantasy campaign, which makes sense in a way, in a world like Eberron for instance, magic is technology, there would be no need, to develop, something so complicated. So I was thinking about a arcane gun, similar to the Element Gun that Starlord carries on the Guardians of the Galaxy! However I'm kinda new to the whole, homebrewing and creating new classes or sub classes. So could it be possible to have a Class or sub class that makes use of a gun like that? Shooting elemental spells that increases in level, with the character!
Possibly work with charges, like a wand but carrying different spells?
Since I've no idea where to start I was hoping someone could give me a hand in this...

RazDelacroix
2015-12-21, 11:16 PM
Hey there! Welcome to one of the most fun/headachey-inducing bits of D&D. Homebrewing! To begin with, let me just say that I for one love mixing high-fantasy with whatever-the-bloomin-hells-I-want. If we want dragons to reside upon mountaintop castles armed with snarky walking cannons than let's do it! But back to your questions.

First place to begin with is the question of, 'Do I really need new game mechanics for what I want?' If it's not in the DM's guide perhaps you can find it in the official Unearthed Arcana articles with free to download supplements that are of the 'Here's a nice idea but we're still sketchy on it' ideas.

When I personally feel lazy, I don't alter rules. I alter fluffy flavor. For example...