PDA

View Full Version : D&D 3.x Other Vulgar Binding (PEACH and Apologies).



Amechra
2016-01-27, 02:10 AM
Yes. The name of this variant is a massive pun. Live with it.

So, the fluff in Tome of Magic states that Vestige-binding is super easy, to the point that anyone can do it. And then there's the fact that you've got some nice feats that let non-Binders bind Vestiges.

That's not enough!

So here's rules that let everyone bind Vestiges. For the purposes of these rules, the Binder class does not exist - though an alternate version of the class might be in order.



Any Intelligent creature in possession of a Vestige's sign can potentially bind it - in general, the DC to discover a Vestige's sign is equal to its Binding DC. Letting alien parasites into your head is not the brightest idea, though, so binding has several inherent drawbacks.
.
Every creature with an Intelligence of 3 or greater is considered to possess the Soul Binding class feature - however, they always make a poor pact, and may only bind one Vestige at a time.

Effective Binder Level
All creatures possess an EBL equal to 1 + 1/3 of their HD, rounded down; any feat or class feature that increases a creature's EBL instead increases their HD for the purposes of determining their EBL. The DC for saving throws against the granted abilities of Vestiges you bind is equal to 10 + your EBL + your Charisma modifier.

Safe Vestige Limit
Creatures may only safely bind Vestiges of a level equal to or lower than half their EBL, rounded up. Binding Vestiges more powerful that that brings the creature under the Influence of the Vestige in question.

At Least One Level Beyond The Limit: You are considered to be a summoned creature for the purposes of Protection from Evil, Magic Circle against Evil and similar spells and effects.

At Least Two Levels Beyond The Limit: You may not use any granted abilities that aren't at-will or continuous while suffering any penalties from going against the Vestige's Influence.

At Least Three Levels Beyond The Limit: You are considered to be going against the Vestige's Influence whenever you hide the Vestige's Sign.

At Least Four Levels Beyond The Limit: The penalty you take due to going against your Vestige's Influence also applies to your EBL for the purposes of determining how far the Vestige is above your Safe Vestige Limit.

At Least Five Levels Beyond The Limit: You may not voluntarily unbind the Vestige. In addition, you are also considered to be a called creature for the purposes of Magic Circle against Evil and similar spells.

At Least Six Levels Beyond The Limit: The Vestige hollows you out and steps into you - the Pact no longer ends naturally. You gain the Yellow Duke (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?75718-Assatur-the-Nightmare-Messiah-Elder-Evil) template; rather than gaining jaundiced skin and star-flecked eyes, the Vestige's Sign is emphasized and warped to encompass your entire appearance. Remove any penalties you are suffering due to breaking the Vestige's Influence and pass control of your character to the DM; you are now an NPC.

Pact Boons
Whenever you form a Pact with a Vestige, the Vestige will offer you between one and three Pact Boons, plus an additional Pact Boon if you never went against that Vestige's Influence during the last Pact you had with it. Each Pact Boon you accept increases the Vestige's Level for the purposes of determining whether or not you may safely bind them, and the effects if you cannot.

Amechra
2016-01-27, 02:11 AM
Reserved for alternate Binder class.

Amechra
2016-01-27, 02:12 AM
You may post.

Should you wish. Or if your Vestige allows you to.

nikkoli
2016-01-27, 05:13 PM
So if I'm reading this right, if you were to make a wizard nocturomancer (whichever one progresses arcane and vestiges) you would gain 2/3 HD per HD when accounting for your EBL?

Amechra
2016-01-27, 05:21 PM
So if I'm reading this right, if you were to make a wizard nocturomancer (whichever one progresses arcane and vestiges) you would gain 2/3 HD per HD when accounting for your EBL?

Anima Mage; and only for those levels, yeah.

TheTeaMustFlow
2016-01-27, 10:32 PM
I like it, very CoC.