PDA

View Full Version : New Paladin oath: Paladin of the Pure Light

Feuerphoenix
2016-04-03, 08:45 PM
Hello fellas :)

At first if you find any mistakes concerning my English, please forgive me. :)

This paladin was created under the banner "how I imagine a paladin should be". It is based on my ideals, my experiences and my imagination. I am somewhat new to DnD, so the most important feedback I need would be, whether this build is overpowered, compared to other oaths.
_____

To become a "Lucian" or Crusader-Paladin, before you take the oath, you have to have the feat blessed.

Blessed:

you gain the Channel Divinity Sacred Weapon (from the devotion oath), and you can use it once per short rest. It needs to be regenerated separately from your other Channel Divinities, thus is only possible, when all other ones are already regenerated.

Sacred Weapon can only be used on a bond-weapon (explained later on).

Tenets of the pure light

Light the Darkness: Wherever is darkness, light is needed most. Don't refuse the light to any place.

Shatter the Darkness: Shatter all corrupted evil, and everything that is supporting is. Eradicate everything it touched.

Speak the right of the Pure Light: The Pure Light and its glory stand above all mundane law. The the righteous judge wherever you are.

Walk in the Pure Light: Be an example for everyone to follow, in words and deeds.

_____

You know the light cantrip, if you don't know it already from another source.

Weapon-Bond:
A Lucian only trusts the weapon he wielded all his life, showing this, by entering a holy bond with the weapon. (only one weapon at a time can be bonded to). This bond is achieved by meditating four hours over a weapon you are proficient with. You can dismiss this weapon in a subplane or let it appear again as a bonus action. As long as sacred weapon affects this weapon, it can not be disarmed.