PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Running a large+open game.

CrazyCrab
2016-04-18, 07:37 PM
Hi everyone,

tl;dr I have a tendency to write overly long passages. To summarize it, I'm looking for tips on running an open (people coming and going) and huge (8+ players, one DM) game. I'm pretty good at the 1st thing, bad at the big game thing.

I recently started a new campaign (this week is going to be the 5th session) and while at first I was happy with the number of players (4-6, the usual stuff) the last two weeks have been really tough to DM as we end up with 8+ players.

Why, you may ask. Well, I am DMing for a 'Meetup', the London Dungeons and Dragons meetup, which means that our Saturday games are open - everyone should be able to drop by say hi and play. While I do have a lot of regulars (6+) I also often end up with complete newbies who have never played at the table or, sometimes, never played DnD before.

This means that every session I have to reintroduce the world (sometimes multiple times as 8+ people can be really loud) and then everyone new needs to make a character (another 30 mins) and then they need to be informed of what is going on... ugh. Don't get me wrong, I have made a lot of friends this way and it is fun, but it is somewhat becoming and chore and the people who come here every week are starting to enjoy it less and less as instead of starting at 13.30 we start at 14.45 if we are lucky. We still get things done most of the time, but I can tell that some people have heard my introduction one too many times.

So, here is my first question: any tips on running an open game? I have given it some thought and this is what I am using right now to make things easier for myself: