PDA

View Full Version : Sorcerer Alterations

Fflewddur Fflam
2016-06-11, 05:04 PM
Sorcerer has long been one of my favorite classes so I was a little disappointed when I started playing 5e and noticed that the game-designers aren't very big fans of the class.
Remember how sorcerer used to be so cool because of flexible casting? Now, EVERY spellcaster has flexible casting. Remember when the sorcerer could cast more spells per day than the wizard? Not anymore.

Basically, the only thing the sorc has going for him in 5e is metamagic, which is cool but is also a bit hamstrung. Here are some fun little alterations that I would provide to any sorc who was playing a game I was DMing, let me know what you think.

Converting a Spell Slot to Sorcery Points. You use the “Creating Spell Slots” table when determining how many sorcery points are created from converting a spell slot. (Felt like a screwjob that it isn't the same cost going in reverse).

METAMAGIC
Careful Spell: a chosen creature protected by this metamagic automatically succeeds on their saving throws against the spell, and they take no damage if they would normally take half damage on a successful save. (Bringing this in line with the Evoker's "sculpt spells".)

DRACONIC BLOODLINE
Dragon Ancestor (Optional): When the character chooses the type of dragon as their ancestor, they may choose a specific damage type pertaining to spells in the Sorcerer spell list. The damage type for those spells now always deals the sorcerer’s draconic damage type rather than the damage listed in the spell. The sorcerer is prohibited from ever taking a spell that doesn’t convert that selected damage type to their draconic damage type.