PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Warlock Invocations (PEACH)

Zeros
2016-11-02, 12:08 PM
Ever since 3.5 I've fallen in love with the Warlock. The general mechanics (although not always the implementation), the background and flavor, the general idea of a caster who gets to keep casting. When I first saw the 5e warlock I was disheartened that it was so limited per encounter (besides EB of course) but I quickly got over that, its different, but its still has its fun.

Anyhow, So now I've begun to Homebrew some invocations. These invocations range from 3.5 ports (Hellrime, Brimstone, Vitriolic blast) to defensive buffs, to modified spells.

Honestly, I'm relatively new to 5e, so there's bound to be balance issues, so I'm opening it up to critique. Also, if you think of better names for any invocation/spell let me know as some of the names are bland or specifically flavored to demonic patrons.

Modified spells: This first set of thing invocations are modified spells. They are generally better than the original spell, but do lose some of the potency or effect.

Hungering Frost
Prerequisite: Able to Cast Armor of Agathys. ? Level?

When you would cast Armor of Agathys you may instead cast Hungering Frost

1st-level abjuration
Casting time: 1 action
Range: Self
Components: V, S, M (a cup of water)
Duration: 1 hour

A protective magical force surrounds you, manifesting as a spectral frost that covers you and your gear. You gain 5 temporary hit points for the duration. If a creature hits you with a melee attack while you have these hit points, the creature takes damage equal to your temporary hit points at the time of the attack

For the duration, temporary hit points stack. These temporary hit points may never exceed the maximum you gain from this spell. The temporary hit points from Armor of Agathys are lost first, after which the cold damage dealt to melee attackers is equal to the temporary hit points at the time of being hit.