PDA

View Full Version : Tips for making non humanoid player race?

jollysunflora
2017-03-14, 03:46 PM
I'm a newbie to homebrewing and have several concepts for different alien races, several of which are non humanoid. How would I get started with that? Like basic stats and such; everything seems skewed towards humanoid races for obvious reasons...

GalacticAxekick
2017-03-14, 03:51 PM
All you need to do is grant them appropriate features and stat bonuses, really.

What system is this for? How do your races differ from humanoids?

jollysunflora
2017-03-14, 04:10 PM
For Pathfinder but convertible to 5e and so on. Well, theres one race that are basically sentient octopuses, a race of psychic slug people, some fungi people...

GalacticAxekick
2017-03-14, 04:52 PM
For Pathfinder but convertible to 5e and so on. Well, theres one race that are basically sentient octopuses, a race of psychic slug people, some fungi people...The octopus race is quite compatible with the race-building conventions of 5e, though I can't comment on the others without more information on what psychic powers the slugs hold or how (if?) the fungi locomote.

Skipping fluff like age, alignment, specific size and language (which are up to you), here's what the octopus might look like

Cephalopod Dude
Ability Score Increase: Your Dexterity score increases by 2.
Size: Medium
Speed: Your base walking speed is 20 feet. You have a swimming speed of 40 feet.
Darkvision: Accustomed to the ocean depths, you have superior vision in dark and dim conditions. You can see in dim light within 60 feet of you as if it were bright light, and in darkness as if it were dim light. You can’t discern color in darkness: only shades of gray.
Boneless: You can move through any opening large enough for a small creature without squeezing.