PDA

View Full Version : Character Sheet Neatness tips?

Matwal1
2017-04-01, 01:37 PM
Hey, I'm new to using Character sheets I've mostly ever played online so I was wondering if anyone had any tips to make my sheet clean and how can I organize my backpack and things like that so I can easily read it and know what I have and when I use something.

KillianHawkeye
2017-04-01, 04:51 PM
Well, it sort of depends on what your character sheet looks like. There are hundreds of different ones just for D&D, and you didn't mention what game you're playing.

As far as inventory management goes, I usually have different columns. One column gets used for magic items with permanent ones at the top and expendable ones like potions, scrolls and wands at the bottom. Another column or two (depending on how much space is on the sheet) gets used for mundane items. Sometimes I'll write things that are kept in a particular container in groups lined up under the container's name, so that I know (for example) that my torches are in my backpack but my small steel mirror is in my belt pouch next to my coin purse. If that's not enough, the next step is probably to get an entire piece of paper to record gear and items on.

Anonymouswizard
2017-04-01, 06:17 PM
Character sheet etiquette varies considerably between groups (I've been in ones where the GM collects all sheets post session, and ones where everyone hangs onto their own, as well as those where it's up to you, just as one example), so don't take any advice given hear as gospel.

Secondly, what game are you playing? Some games have horribly designed character sheets, some just have sheets which have too many pretty graphics and not enough info, so we might be able to point you towards a better sheet than the official one.

Here are my basic tips for character sheets:
-Always write on it in pencil, always. There's a lot you'll need to change.