PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Tips for a Beginning Storyteller in Exalted.

Callos_DeTerran
2017-04-23, 07:26 PM
I'm posting this here because I'm not really looking for advice on the rules (though if someone has them, by all means message them too me! I could use it) but just general story set-up and ideas. Could be applied to anything but in this particular example I need some help with Exalted.

A little background.

I'm currently only in three games throughout the week and while I'm waiting for my new Conan RPG system to arrive (in a couple of months), I took some suggestions from my players about what kind of game I could run or even just the system and go from here.

One system, unexpectedly, that I heard brought up was Exalted (2nd Edition but going to be reading through 3rd soon too) and I..wasn't against it. I have little to no experience with Exalted or White Wolf systems, pretty much all of it coming via play-by-post games on various forums and it initially soured me on them. The systems didn't seem well-adapted for a play-by-post format but the settings behind them seemed like they could be fun, so I wasn't against trying to run such a game for people equally new to everything Exalted. Should be fun, right? Over-the-top animesque action with a surreal landscape? Sign me up!

So before I get too far into the rules, I want to come up with a story seed that I can expand upon, but the...scope of Exalted is giving me a bit of trouble on this. It starts at a higher level and the setting itself is so big and strange that its a little difficult. I'm doing research into it, mind, but if I could focus that towards what I'll actually be using for this game that'd be very helpful! So what kind of beginner Solar Exalted stories make sense and fit the overall tone of the game? I want to make my players feel like...well...the badasses that the Exalted are but I struggle at times with the kind of tone Exalted normally aim for.

Any suggestions?

Xuc Xac