PDA

View Full Version : Homebrew Race: Igni

Ranckorr
2017-05-06, 12:14 AM
He guys, this is my first time posting on this site and I'm looking for some help with making a level adjustment 0 fire elemental kind of race that I made below. I'm just checking if there is any problems with the balancing.

Igni

Description: they are similar to archons but instead of armor, its viciously charred looking flesh. The are hollowed out and filled with fire. There is open scars on their arms and on their backs to vent out smoke.

Race Traits
*Edit*+2 Con -2 Int
Outsider(Native)
Medium size
Immunity to Fire
*Edit*Vulnerability to Cold: Water effects like acid to them but as cold damage
Base Speed: 30ft
+2 racial bonus: Profession: Blacksmithing
*Edit*Blood of Flame: you have a pool of points equal to 3X HD. These points can bee used to use your internal fire in creative and destructive ways. But for every point you use, your HP lowers by 1. Damage is typically low.
*Edit*Thermal Restoration: You eat fire by coming in physical contact with it. The fire restores your HP depending on how long you remain in contact and for how large the fire is. Fire is gradually extinguished by contact to the DM's discretion. Small fire heals usually 4-5 health.
Base Language: Ignan
Bonus Languages: Common, Draconic, Giant

Darth Ultron
2017-05-06, 06:16 PM
Off hand, I'd say this race is way, way too powerful for level adjustment of zero.

Fire immunity alone is at least a good +1 level bump.

Blood of Flame might be too powerful...depending what it does. If it has an effect more powerful then a first level spell, it's too powerful.

Thermal Restoration also might be too powerful, depending on the mechanics. If any campfire is at at will heal effect, that is way too powerful.

Shark Uppercut
2017-05-06, 11:33 PM
Well, there are +0 LA Lesser Fire Genasi in the Player's Guide to Faerun. But you made the effort to made a race out of scratch, so I'll put in the time to critique that race bit by bit.