PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Please critique my custom 5e Cleric domain (Voodoo/Loa)

pygmybatrider
2017-06-22, 02:49 AM
Hi all, long time lurker first time poster here.

I'm planning a PC for an upcoming campaign, heavily influenced by the witch doctor from Diablo 3 - Hollywood voodoo vibe, wooden masks and skulls and potions (and a riding bat!). I'd originally planned some sort of ranger/druid multiclass, but realised that a custom domain could do the same sort of thing with less hassle. This is my first time homebrewing anything so please feel free to give any advice you have concerning spell list/abilities/overpoweredness etc.

LOA DOMAIN

Loa are the spirits of dead gods, generally tied to a particular tribe or group through ancient and unshakable bonds. Despite no longer possessing their physical strength, such gods can become powerful protectors and advisors of their people through their representative clerics. These clerics, sometimes called witch doctors or shamans, channel their gods’ devotion to the tribe, offering words of wisdom, healing, and protection from external threats. While there are a myriad of Loa, each with their own particular quirks and foci, they generally have a deep connection to nature – animals in particular – and the afterlife.

LOA DOMAIN SPELLS

Cleric Level - Spells

1st - animal friendship, hex
3rd - web, blindness/deafness
5th - conjure animals, fear
7th - confusion, polymorph
9th - conjure volley, insect plague

TRIBAL FOCUS

When you choose this domain at 1st level, you gain proficiency with blowguns and Alchemist's Supplies. You also gain proficiency in one of the following skills of your choice: Animal Handling, Nature, or Survival.

CHANNEL DIVINITY: SPIRIT INFUSION