PDA

View Full Version : [5E]Bought unbalanced dmsguild adaptation of the duskblade and now trying to fix it

Sharkanis
2017-07-06, 04:12 AM
Backgroundstory:
I'm pretty new to D&D and just played my first session last week. I wanted to play for a long time but couldn't find players in my town. Last week I discovered roll20 and thought that I should try to find an online group. So, I went out to find a class that I would like to play and remembered an old 3.5E class from a time I seriously wanted to find a group - the duskblade. After a short search I noticed that this class wasn't available for 5E. Through critical role I knew of the site dmsguild and thought that I might find a homebrew version there. I found one and it's rating looked good. So I bought it and went on to find a group on roll20. I found a DM who was willing to pick me up and liked the lore/fantasy behind the class and permitted me to play it. So I dived deeper into the ruleset and noticed that the adaptation wasn't polished at all. It had bonus feats in it's progression and more then 20 features, a spell progression akin to a normal caster and much more. So I began trying to fix it and removed features, changed them or introduced new ones. Only at a later stage did I discover that there were other probably better homebrew adaptations (like on this forum) of the duskblade. But since I've already put considerable work into fixing it I wanted to finish what I started. Considering I've no real experience and just looked at what other classes had I'd like to discuss if I'm heading in the right direction.

Since I can't post links and the mods said I had to link the original: If you search for "Duskblade" on dmsguild.com it is named "The Duskblade: A 5e Class". Furthermore I can't post the whole reworked class publicly. Therefore I'm posting only the features I've reworked or created from scratch.