PDA

View Full Version : 5e Specific Advice For Experienced DM new to System

AlhazTheRed
2017-11-25, 10:38 AM
I've been gaming for 15 years, and have been almost exclusively GMing for most of that time: 3, 3.5, PF, Traveler T20, Spycraft, Modern, Rifts... You get the idea.

In preparation for the move to 5e I've been pretty involved in following homebrew community and reading up on metagame analysis. The Starter Set I'm taking this batch of mostly new players through will help, but there are always some things you can only learn by playing. So I want your advice and experience!

What are some risks and pratfalls you've found in running a 5e game?
Where do you find the system shines especially?
What do I need to be careful or wary of?
What works best when balancing encounters for larger parties?
Just how disruptive are magic items really?
What have you found that the RAW doesn't cover well?
Are there things that more readily lead to accidental PC deaths?
Any other system-specific advice you may have?

Thanks in advance, guys. Love this community, and my players and I appreciate the help!

Adderbane
2017-11-25, 10:55 AM
The biggest thing to note is that 5e is designed to involve smaller bonuses than 3.x. This makes +x items much stronger than you usually expect. A lot of the "disruption" caused by magic items is due to DMs stuck on 3.x mindsets and giving players too powerful items.

Puh Laden
2017-11-25, 11:03 AM
I've been gaming for 15 years, and have been almost exclusively GMing for most of that time: 3, 3.5, PF, Traveler T20, Spycraft, Modern, Rifts... You get the idea.

In preparation for the move to 5e I've been pretty involved in following homebrew community and reading up on metagame analysis. The Starter Set I'm taking this batch of mostly new players through will help, but there are always some things you can only learn by playing. So I want your advice and experience!

Thanks in advance, guys. Love this community, and my players and I appreciate the help!