PDA

View Full Version : Optimization How do I build my character?

Jahjohama
2018-07-28, 03:16 PM
Hello All!

I am new to DnD in general and started at 5E. My half-elf sorcerer and a couple other party members died in our last session and I want to make a new character. I have been reading these forums for the past couple of months and appreciate all of the insightful advice I have seen on the various threads.

I come asking for advice building a character. I haven't settled completely on any specific class, and do not mind if he isn't 100% optimized, would be happy if he can just hold his own and assist the party. I have the theory for the character in mind, just not sure on the best route to take.

He will start at lvl 4 and I want him to be a human variant, noble background (for RP reasons) martial character specialized in dealing with casters. I really like the eldritch knight fighter, but would like to have more casting abilities at earlier levels, I think our game will takes us all to level 10-15 max.

In my mind I see my character "teleporting/moving quickly" into range of the caster and then locking down a spell caster with "silence/dispell/counterspell" type options and dropping them quickly with melee attacks. Some sort of Templar from Dragon Age type build.

I don't have any preference on feats/classes/multiclass options other than I would like him to be Sword and Board and be somewhat viable by level 5-10.

Any suggestions, advice, or input would greatly appreciated!

Thank you!

Malifice
2018-07-28, 03:36 PM
I'm liking Slayer Ranger.

Its the perfect chassis for a Witch Hunter.

I'd probably go Archery with it. If you do take Sharpshooter (4th level feat) and Archery F/S.

Slybluedemon
2018-07-28, 05:06 PM
Hello All!