PDA

View Full Version : D&D 5e/Next Warlock Gunslinger

Bannan_mantis
2018-11-05, 06:52 AM
I was thinking of playing a warlock hexblade and I was looking other some of the invocations before I went over and saw the arcane gunslinger invocation, it's UA but the idea of a arcane gunslinger who uses magic and bullets is something that just seems very cool to me. I have seen multiple people point out how you can just have a gun as your spell casting focus and I like that idea so I decided to make it into a subclass but with more emphasis on the "being a gunslinger" theme with quickdraw and fast hands abilities. I have tried to make this a warlock who can deal large damage by being a caster blaster while also trying to be the first in initiative cause who doesn't want the fastest hands in the west.

This is my first attempt at a homebrew like this and I have probably made this horrendously OP or just bad so please give critiques where necessary.

https://homebrewery.naturalcrit.com/share/B1Zafja2Q

lunaticfringe
2018-11-05, 07:43 AM
Sleep deprived first pass.

Way too much initiative shenanigans 'You add your Cha & Dex modifier when rolling initiative', that's all you need. There is already an official invocation called Eldritch Smite. The 14 ability seems meh.

Bannan_mantis
2018-11-05, 07:44 AM
um, probably should have specified but eldritch mark is a patron, sorry

Also I used eldritch smite as a base and sorta forgot to change the name, sorry I have been a bit forgetful when making this

lunaticfringe
2018-11-05, 07:47 AM
um, probably should have specified but eldritch mark is a patron, sorry

Yeah I edited my post. As I said Sleep deprived, that's my bad.

Bannan_mantis
2018-11-05, 07:50 AM
your not the only one my friend and to add onto what you said, eldritch smite to my knowledge is something that is melee only and is the 14th level ability OP? Even with like 6-8 eldritch blast shots from rapid fire

Also made some changes at level 6 with quickdraw

Vogie