PDA

View Full Version : Charge mechanics



SandDemon
2007-10-12, 12:26 PM
Having a small debate about the specifics behind "limitations of movement" with charge.....from the d20srd.org


You must move before your attack, not after. You must move at least 10 feet (2 squares) and may move up to double your speed directly toward the designated opponent.

You must have a clear path toward the opponent, and nothing can hinder your movement (such as difficult terrain or obstacles). Hereís what it means to have a clear path. First, you must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. (If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you canít charge.) Second, if any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you canít charge. (Helpless creatures donít stop a charge.)

Now the debate is between if the following scenario is possible:

Let's say you're around a wagon from your enemy and you want to charge them. Is it feasible that you can run around the wagon in a curved line and charge them? Nothing specifically states in the PHB or d20srd that it has to be a "straight" line. I know it's obvious you can't charge someone through difficult terrain, other people, etc....but if it's a line with no interruptions in the movement (zig-zags, 90/180 degree movement, etc), can you charge them in a curved line path?

If I'm around the car from someone in real life, don't see a problem with gaining momentum around the car in a circular line to nail them.

Thoughts?

Jasdoif
2007-10-12, 12:32 PM
Nothing specifically states in the PHB or d20srd that it has to be a "straight" line.Yes, it does. You have to move up to twice your speed directly towards your opponent. Anything other then a straight line is not direct.

Besides the definition of "directly", if you have to run around the wagon to get a clear path, then the wagon has to be somewhere in a line between your starting space and your target, and I'm sure a wagon blocks or slows foot movement.

Swooper
2007-10-12, 12:37 PM
As Jasdoif said, no, you can't charge in that position. This is why:

Second, if any line from your starting space to the ending space passes through a square that blocks movement, slows movement, or contains a creature (even an ally), you canít charge.

Lord Tataraus
2007-10-12, 01:27 PM
Another hint would be the feats and abilities that specifically say that you may make one or more changes of direction during a charge.

leperkhaun
2007-10-12, 01:36 PM
If you are not using feats or a PrC no, because the cart is in the way.

Fleet of foot (prereq is run) allows one 90 degree turn during a charge.

Also some classes give you the ability to charge around objects (drunken master is one).