PDA

View Full Version : A few ideas for an Epic Level Campaign

Silent Thunder
2007-10-26, 12:47 AM
I've been DMing for a few years now, and I thought I'd go back to my first love of RPGs and try my hand at doing a D&D game for my veteran group. Now both they and I are looking to do something different, so I hunted down a copy of the Epic Handbook (roleplay material is pretty hard to come by where I live) and started to sketch out an idea for a fairly epic adventure. My first major snag seems to be a fairly common one, from what I've read in other forums; after you hit Epic level, the challenge either drops to the point where there's minimal danger to the characters, or you're forcing them to square off against beings of such power that you can hardly suggest that there's more than a few of them without putting a real strain on the suspention of disbelief, thus meaning each one they kill is detracting from future challenges.

So, I came up with a few notions on how to make an Epic level game that was both challenging throught the entire progression (or at least I hope so), gave a sense of the sheer scale of such a campaign, and kept it so that every enemy they came across was logical and wasn't just something thrown at them because the CR matched up with their party level. I'd appreciate any thoughts you have on it, as no doubt I'll need to adjust my sights a bit (it's been a while since I DMed D&D after all), and I don't want to appear like I'm making my players suffer (needlessly that is).