PDA

View Full Version : Adding Spice: Legends and Customs in Fantasy Fiction

Neon Knight
2007-11-28, 07:55 PM
Recently, I became aware of the fact that legends in the context of most fictional worlds with large populations of unnatural and impossible creatures become rather odd.

I'm no expert on myths and legends and how the form, but it seemed to me that mythical constructions like the yeti and the werewolf would not form or would be less likely to form in a world where demons and other such creatures exist. Why invent horrible monsters when you are besieged by actual horrors?

On a slightly different tangent, certain fantasy worlds employ unique phrases, epithets, or sayings to enhance the feel of a real actual culture. I also felt that most came off as rather cheesy, and was trying to create one of my own without falling to cheese. I was looking into replacing "hoisted by one's own petard." A simple enough phrase to describe being negatively affected by one's own scheme.

What I came up with was the idea of a famous evil wizard who invented a monster that hid as a cloak. That's right, he invented Cloakers. He used them as spies, assassins, and personal bodyguards, actually wearing them like cloaks. One day, he got tired of the color black and so bred a white cloaker. The resulting celestial cloaker strangled him when he put it on. Thus the phrase, "choked by his own cloak," indicates a plan that backfires. Is that cheesy?

Nonah_Me
2007-11-28, 08:13 PM
I've also found it hard when a character of mine uses a modern day euphamism or curse word. However, I still feel extremely stupid when I say "by the hells!" even if it's in character.

I like your idea. Choked by his own cloak rolls off of the tounge easy enough.

Collin152
2007-11-28, 08:27 PM
Hm. Never thought about legends like that. Who needs a Beast when you almost got stole by a bear holding a shark?
I mean, it's not like misconceptions happen very often.