PDA

View Full Version : Inn Management in 3.5

Scalenex
2007-12-21, 02:48 AM
I have an Economics degree. Even before this I asked various forms of the question "Why hoard piles of gold, why not invest it into something." Now in the chronicle I'm playing, we have. We saved a town that was a staging ground for several villains evil plots. Among these villains was our kindly unassuming inn keeper (who was a vengeful ex-noble turned wizard who planned a very delayed revenge plot against many, including her husband).

When the smoke cleared and our inn keeper was literally dragged off into the lower planes, we found ourselves squatting in a public domain inn. When the mayor gave us mucho dinero for saving the town, we decided to buy the inn from the town. We named it the Howler Inn because a disportionate number of our opponents at the time loved to summon them. So we estimate we'll about 200 to 300 gold pieces a year, but we are hanging around the town. We paid someone 20% of our profits to manage it. We have a half-baked plan to buy several inns in the future.

If we are adventurers traveling around, what is the best way to collect our profits in an efficient manner? Our current plan is to swing buy our inns when we travel in their general vicinity, but if we go farther afield that will become difficult. We came up with the idea that if we owned inns in virtually every town along the major trade route our stories are on, we could pay collectors to go up and down the stretch and give us the profits for a modest fee.

Please keep high level spells or super powerful magical items out of the equation (or merchants based around teleportation circles and things that ruin the medieval feel. We are sixth level going on seventh so that's not practical now. Even if we were high level, it still would not be practical to spend thousands of gold pieces to collect a few hundred.

Khanderas
2007-12-21, 02:58 AM