PDA

View Full Version : [4e]Do you feel that you are being alienated by WotC?

Mr. Friendly
2007-12-21, 08:45 AM
I have seen several posters say that they feel they are being alienated from 4th Edition because it targets a younger audience.

Now I personally am 32 years old and I have been playing D&D for a really long time. I think the first D&D "thing" I ever had as a kid was that old school model kit of the dungeon... anyone remember that? Anyway, I also had the 1e Monster "flash cards" with the stats on the back. This was while I was a mewling baby basically. As I grew up I started playing and here I am.

I don't feel alienated by 4th Edition. On the contrary it looks like they are cleaning it up and making it better, hopefully making it so I can play the characters I want to play. (Dragonborn is a good start)

So, how old are you and do you feel that you are being alienated by WotC playing to a younger fan base.

Note: If you are uncomfortable giving your age, you can give an age range (e.g. over 30, under 40) if you would feel more comfortable.

EDIT:

To define Alienated, just so we are clear:

al·ien·ate (ly-nt, l--) (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/alienated)
tr.v. al·ien·at·ed, al·ien·at·ing, al·ien·ates
1. To cause to become unfriendly or hostile; estrange: alienate a friend; alienate potential supporters by taking extreme positions. See Synonyms at estrange.*
2. To cause to become withdrawn or unresponsive; isolate or dissociate emotionally: The numbing labor tended to alienate workers.
3. To cause to be transferred; turn away: "He succeeded . . . in alienating the affections of my only ward" Oscar Wilde.
4. Law To transfer (property or a right) to the ownership of another, especially by an act of the owner rather than by inheritance.

*es·trange (-strnj) (http://www.thefreedictionary.com/estrange)
tr.v. es·tranged, es·trang·ing, es·trang·es
1. To make hostile, unsympathetic, or indifferent; alienate.