PDA

View Full Version : Spell pool and specialisation



nerulean
2007-12-21, 05:35 PM
I may be missing some glaringly obvious ruling here, but if you are a specialist wizard and have access to a spellpool, for instance through the mage of the arcane order prestige class, can you call spells from your prohibited schools?

Galathir
2007-12-21, 10:08 PM
I'm not totally sure about this, but the section on Specialisation in the PHB says that wizards never learn to cast spells from a forbidden school. While this doesn't say you can't cast spells from a forbidden school, it does seem at the very least to suggest that you can't. I guess it depends on whether you read the phrase to mean "can't learn and add spells to your spellbook", or "can't cast spells".

Jack_Simth
2007-12-21, 10:18 PM
As a DM?

You can't bypass that restriction, sorry. Wizards in the Arcane Order are already treading on the Sorcerer's Spontaneous Casting toes. Also, though, the Forbidden Schools aren't available to the Wizard - the wizard can't even cast them out of wands or scrolls. As a spellpool spell is stored just as though you had prepared it (other than that it fades quickly), methinks the intent, if not the specific wording, indicates they're not available.

nerulean
2007-12-22, 07:38 AM
I would tend to agree, but I'd love to find a RAW answer to this. Looks like there isn't one. I'm DMing and the question is arising for an NPC, so it's really up to me, but I like to run players and NPCs on the same rules and the easiest way to do that is to stick to what's written.

Kiirseva
2007-12-22, 08:14 AM
"Spells of the prohibited school or schools are not available to the wizard, and she canít even cast such spells from scrolls or fire them from wands. She may not change either her specialization or her prohibited schools later." covers casting from the Spellpool, as you are still casting them. They aren't being cast for you.