PDA

View Full Version : My first attempt at homebrewing: A Races of Stone-inspired campaign setting

Ascension
2008-01-29, 03:01 AM
I've fallen in love with the Goliath race from Races of Stone, but to really involve goliath culture in an adventure it pretty much has to be in the mountains, and that line of reasoning led me to the germ of an idea for a heavily mountain-based homebrew campaign setting. I've never tried crafting a campaign setting before, but I just can't help myself. I've got to give it a try this time.

My thoughts so far have actually been focused primarily on the Dwarves. I've never been too fond of the concept of the dwarves being a wholly subterranean race. I can understand their natural affinity for mining leading them to spend extended periods of time underground, but I think they really ought to have settlements aboveground as well, at least in the immediate vicinity of mine entrances.

That in turn, led me to this thought... What if the dwarves were originally a fairly normal surface race, renowned as remarkable miners and smiths, but living primarily on the surface, only venturing underground to work? What if their move to a wholly subterranean lifestyle wasn't a product of free choice, but rather an action taken against their will?

That gives us two basic options: Something on the surface forced them underground to escape it, or something underground dragged them down to serve it. The surface predator option was pretty much out, since I wanted to preserve goliath culture as portrayed in Races of Stone. That left the other option... dwarven enslavement by an evil underground empire. That not only gives us an explanation for why the dwarves were forced underground, it also gives us a nice quest hook.