PDA

View Full Version : Help With Starting New Campaign

batsofchaos
2008-02-06, 03:44 PM
I'm a novice DM and a semi-veteran player and I'm starting up a campaign shortly with some friends who are all veteran players. The setting is a homebrewed world and I have some of the basics worked out for a start, but I've only got a vague idea regarding adventures to start with. Here's what I've got so far. There's a decent chunk of stuff here, so I'm going to spoiler-tag most of it for ease-of-reading. You could probably skip the setting synopsis and still understand what I'm asking about.

Setting Synopsis:

The world is largely water dotted with lots of islands and smaller continents. The largest land-masses will be not much bigger than Australia. The technological level is medeival with a slightly higher level for nautical travel, since it's such a big part of the location. Magic is abundant, but the gods do not directly interfere. There is some "magic as technology" in use, but nothing like magic television or trolleys.

Basically core classes with some prestige classes available. Pretty much what's in the SRD. Only major difference is the Barbarian class is staying almost entirely in tact save some skills are being changed around, while the flavor text and name is being altered to make them born sea-farers and piratey-type folks. I thought the class fits pretty well as a brutal buccaneer so long as they get some class skills that fit the theme.

The core races are there, except for half-orc (I'm tired of orcs). I'm adding two additional races, roughly based on Goblins and Hobgoblins (which are modified to be similar to the two races in OotS). Goblin's favored class is ranger and Hobgoblin's is the modified Barbarian.

Plot Synopsis: