View Full Version : Arena Tournament, Round 27: Krux vs. Andek Firebeard

2008-02-07, 02:46 PM
Arena Tournament, Round 26: Krux vs. Andek Firebeard


XP Award: 300 XP
GP Award: 300 GP

Krux - Tortise262 (http://www.myth-weavers.com/sheets/view.php?id=35144)
Andek Firebeard - Dragonstar (http://www.dndonlinegames.com/view.php?id=62184)

All Combatants, please roll initiative.

2008-02-07, 04:59 PM
Guh? I didn't think we'd have to face off again this soon... :smalleek:

I'll make some purchases before I roll initiative.

2008-02-07, 06:05 PM
So, we meet again!

Just doublechecking: you can buy stuff in between matches, right? I threw on some banded mail to replace the scale mail. And you can also purchase between initiative and the first action, right?

2008-02-07, 11:18 PM
Yep, you can purchase anything your heart desires between the last action of your last match, and the first action of your next match. Note, for arena purposes, initiative doesn't count as an action.

2008-02-10, 11:53 AM
Sorry, Saturday and Sunday are my main posting days, and my girlfriend wanted to go shopping yesterday. Priorities, you know. :smallbiggrin:


2008-02-10, 11:58 AM
For refs: Begin in B11, moving straight forward and begin climbing the rock pillar section of G11. [roll0] and then will continue to climb up on the next round - how high are these things anyway?


2008-02-10, 12:21 PM
@ Refs:Riding warhorse, lance, banded mail, and heavy shield are equipped.
Move to S/T 2/3 and ready a melee attack if my opponent comes within 10 feet.

HP: 14/14
AC: 19 (touch 11)

Spot: [roll0]
Listen: [roll1]

Is it possible to ready a standard-action charge? According to RAW, it doesn't seem possible, unless I were restricted to just a standard action. Am I to understand, then, that I could ready a charge if I drank a potion of slow?

2008-02-10, 02:07 PM
High Ref Morbius

You can only ready standard, move and free actions and charging is normally not a standard action... however there are some magic items/feats around that might help you ready an charge :smallwink:
A very interesting idea indeed, I think I will consider that for a couple of my characters

Paladin Latham
2008-02-10, 02:09 PM
Readying an action takes a standard action and can be either a standard action, a move action or a free action. Charging is a full-round action and thus cannot be readied.

Edit: Ninja'd!

2008-02-11, 06:38 PM
Tortoise, have you finished your turn?

2008-02-11, 08:16 PM
Ref Morbius

It's your turn Dragonstar, he just had a rules question

2008-02-12, 03:35 PM
Actions:Attempt a climb vs. DC 15, using both move actions.

2008-02-12, 03:40 PM
@Refs:No progress on the first climb, move one quarter my movement on the 2nd, so I'm 5ft up on the wall. How tall are these ledges? I don't see it anywhere...

Pass the turn.

2008-02-12, 04:12 PM
Ref Bayar

It does not say in the map description...but it says scalable on a succesful clinb check...I could be wrong, but they could just be climbed in one go...scalable on a climb check...but again, I might be wrong...

2008-02-12, 08:17 PM
My Turn:Waiting for LOS check. If no LOS, then I remain where I am and take Total Defense. If yes LOS, then we'll see.

2008-02-13, 02:02 PM
Initiate ref Talic
Just as a point of note, it makes it easier to provide prompt LoS checks if you post location clearly on every action you take. Many players post a stat section at the bottom of each of their turns with relevant AC information, position, and other pertinent info (such as maneuvers readied, spells memorized, and the like).



2008-02-13, 05:19 PM
@Ref:Alrighty then, I take full defense as I said..

Position: S/T 2/3
HP: 14/14
AC: 23 (touch 15)

2008-02-15, 12:36 AM
ref chilepepper
no los, which you know
no los

Dragonstar, your turn.

2008-02-15, 08:49 AM
Oh good, I was wondering when I could go. :smallwink:

If the bayar's ruling stands, I am standing on the top of the pillar in G11. How far above ground level am I and are you sure then that I have no LoS? I plan to ready a full round action to flurry of blows with shuriken as soon as he is within 20ft.

You may go pending Ref's reply.

2008-02-15, 09:12 AM
High Ref Morbius

You can't ready a full round action, only standard action, move action, etc.
Also the rock pillar is 15 feet tall (someone needs to add that to the front page ¨¨)
And finally remember that if you fail a climb check by 5 or more you will fall:smalleek:

2008-02-15, 02:59 PM
My Turn:
If still no LoS: Move to S/T 4/5 and ready a lance attack if my opponent comes within 10 feet.

If I see him, then I will charge, if possible. If I see him and can't charge, then I'll move within 10 feet and attack.

Start Position: S/T 2/3
End Position: ??
HP: 14/14
AC: 19 (touch 11)

2008-02-15, 03:01 PM
Also:Spot: [roll0]
Listen: [roll1]

2008-02-15, 11:05 PM

No LoS


No LoS. As was previously mentioned, they walls are 15 high, which means you have 10 feet to go to reach the top.

2008-02-17, 05:30 PM
Addendum to my previous round actions thanks to Mavian:

Aaaaannnd... failure by 6 on the 2nd stretch, which means I fall.

2008-02-17, 05:52 PM
Addendum continuing: [roll0] vs DC15 to avoid 10ft falling damage...
[roll1] if I fail.

2008-02-17, 06:01 PM
Okay, now my actual turn! :smallwink:

Double move to L17, dodge target my opponent. All stats per sheet except AC +1.

You may go.

2008-02-17, 06:09 PM
Haha, I can't wait until this match is over so I can see what the crap is going on...

Turn:Start Position: S/T 4/5

If no LOS: Move to G/H 5/6 and ready a lance attack.

Again, if I see him, then I will charge, if possible. If I see him and can't charge, then I'll move within 10 feet and attack.

Start Position: S/T 4/5
End Position: G/H 5/6 ??
HP: 14/14
AC: 19 (touch 11)

2008-02-21, 03:29 PM
Move to N12 - ready a standard, if he gets within 20' of me I'll throw a shuriken.

You may go.

2008-02-21, 11:48 PM
Do I have LOS yet?

2008-02-23, 12:07 PM
GM Kyeudo

LoS is established. Krux is at G5-H6, Andek is at N12.

2008-02-23, 03:47 PM
Quick Question: Can a large creature "squeeze" to fit on the bridge?

A Tad More Complicated Question: Does a 2x2 space containing the bridge and a dark red square count as 1 space? (N5-M6 or M6-O7)?

2008-02-25, 06:44 PM
GM Kyeudo

In answer to your first question:

In some cases, you may have to squeeze into or through an area that isnít as wide as the space you take up. You can squeeze through or into a space that is at least half as wide as your normal space. Each move into or through a narrow space counts as if it were 2 squares, and while squeezed in a narrow space you take a -4 penalty on attack rolls and a -4 penalty to AC.

When a Large creature (which normally takes up four squares) squeezes into a space thatís one square wide, the creatureís miniature figure occupies two squares, centered on the line between the two squares. For a bigger creature, center the creature likewise in the area it squeezes into.

A creature can squeeze past an opponent while moving but it canít end its movement in an occupied square.

To squeeze through or into a space less than half your spaceís width, you must use the Escape Artist skill. You canít attack while using Escape Artist to squeeze through or into a narrow space, you take a -4 penalty to AC, and you lose any Dexterity bonus to AC.

or in other words, yes.

In answer to your second question, you would be take squeezing penalties, since you occupy less than your normal amount of space.

2008-02-26, 07:27 PM
Okay, I read that, but I wanted to make sure squeezing wasn't limited to squeezing between walls. So, I guess I can't be half on the bridge and half on the ground then, eh?

2008-02-26, 07:39 PM
Okay, one last question: Do the attack and AC penalties apply to Krux, or only his mount?

If they apply to Krux, looks like I'll just take a double move and end on the island in the middle (N10-M11)

If not, then end on M9-M10

Stats for Refs:AC = 19
HP = 14 / 14

Mount AC = 10 or Ride Check: [roll0]
Mount HP = 26 / 26

2008-02-28, 03:14 PM
Either way, looks like my readied action goes off when your mount enters M8.

I attack you with a shuriken, -2 range penalty...

[roll0] for [roll1] if it hits...

And you may continue whatever movement the refs determine you can take from there.

2008-02-28, 07:19 PM
Ouch! I'm hit!

2008-02-29, 07:34 PM
I guess it's your turn, but we still don't know where I am. I'll ask my question on the Q&A thread.

2008-03-01, 02:59 AM

I guess I'll end on the island in the middle (N10-M11) then.

You're turn.

2008-03-02, 11:56 AM
Attack you with a single unarmed strike, expending my use of stunning fist for the day:

[roll0] for [roll1] and a DC 13 Will Save or be stunned if it hits, and an additional [roll2] [roll3] if I Nat 20 the hit.

Dodge target you, and you may go.

2008-03-02, 01:07 PM
Isn't that a fortitude save? Argh, you got me in a tough spot here...

Move Action: Move back to M9-10
Attack with lance...
Attack Roll: [roll0]
Damage Roll: [roll1]

You wouldn't happen to be a fire-subtype, would you? If so, I get +1 to hit.

Stats for refs:
End on: M9-10
HP: 14/14
AC: 15

2008-03-02, 04:22 PM
Irrelevant anyhow, since I missed, but you're right. It's a Fort save. And I don't have the fire subtype.

I've taken 13, and you've taken 3... this doesn't look good for me. :smalleek:

5' adjust to M11, and Full-round attack, Flurry of Blows.

First attack:
[roll0] for [roll1]. If a Nat 20, then [roll2] for an additional [roll3] damage.

2nd attack:
[roll4] for [roll5]. If a Nat 20, then [roll6] for an additional [roll7] damage.

Dodge target you, and you may go.
AC=16, HP 1/14

2008-03-02, 04:52 PM
I think that may be game?

2008-03-02, 06:40 PM
Grand Judge Bitzeralisis:

Dang, I haven't posted in the Arena in forever. Anyhow, Dragonstar's character has won. And he gets all those aforementioned prizes.

2008-03-02, 06:40 PM
GM Kyeudo

Andek Firebeard is the Winner!

EDIT: NINJA'D by a ghost!!