PDA

View Full Version : Simple Rogue Archer Build

gkarrish
2008-04-08, 01:44 PM
I am looking for extensive advice on rolling up a level 12 (preferably human, but would consider elf) Rogue Archer. I want to hear how you would prioritize abilities, skills, feats, class special abilities, equipment, short vs. long bow... everything.

Edit: I forgot to mention that I've been instructed as follows - Us the PHB and the 32-point-buy system from the DMG for stats. Also get your starting gold from the DMG as well. Buy whatever you want, just NO artifacts.

I am completely new to D&D, so please explain in simple terms. I have the PHb and that is IT, so no prestige classes please. (My first idea was to create a wizard, but that quickly became an overwhelming proposition, even when I spent copious amounts of time reading.) I'm going to meet up with a group of more experienced gamers, and I just want a rogue who will be useful and fun to play.

Thanks in advance!

Person_Man
2008-04-08, 02:16 PM
Welcome to the game. Rogues aren't particularly powerful, and don't make particularly great archers. But its a common and fun build. Here are some basic elements you'll need:

1) Feats: Point Blank Shot->Rapidshot->Manyshot->Greater Manyshot (http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Greater_Manyshot_(Feat)): This allows you to move (and Tumble, if necessary), fire a bunch of arrows, and have Sneak Attack apply to every arrow. Without it, you need to make a full attack action if you want Sneak Attack to apply to every arrow. And that can be dangerous, because Rogues have low hit points and AC.

2) Find a way to deny your enemies their Dex bonus on every attack. This allows you to apply Sneak Attack on every attack. Common methods are Greater Invisibility (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/spells/invisibilityGreater.htm) or a Ring of Blinking (http://www.dandwiki.com/wiki/SRD:Ring_of_Blinking_(Magic_Ring)), but there are many others as well.