PDA

View Full Version : The Destruction of the 'RP' in 'RPG'

SpikeFightwicky
2008-06-02, 03:16 PM
With the advent of 4th ed., I hear the same argument said over and over again by its detractors: 'It aint D&D, it's a boardgame'. I'm wondering what the new edition does to eliminate a group's ability to RP or interact with the world. I'm not trolling or anything, I'm genuinely curious, and somewhat concerned.

I've been DMing a group (group A) for a few years now, who treat 3.5 as just that: a Diablo style hack'n'slash'to'hell'with'the'story'gimme'more'xp game. I also have a secondary group (group B), which I usually PC with (though not often enough for me to retain my sanity). That group has a more 'balanced' (BUT BALANCE SUX!) approach, focusing on things like character immersion and controversial things like 'talking' to NPCs, as well as combat. Which group do I more enjoy playing with? The latter one.

Now I'm hearing that 4th ed. removed aspects of the game that allow for me to play a 'Group B' style game, and all I'll be able to do is a 'Group A' game (making it an overblow 'Minis' game). Are the miniatures used outside of combat (like, do you always have to use a battlemap), or does the majority of the non-combat game go on descriptively? And if minis are used all the time, who the HELL do they get to playtest it... Final Fantasy Tactics fans?

KIDS
2008-06-02, 03:21 PM
Quite so; I enjoy the strategy aspects and minitatures a lot, but would not find them satisfying if there wasn't a good story with interesting personalities involved. Ideally, the two aspects support each other, which happens rarely but is awesome.