PDA

View Full Version : Fleche [fencing] mechanics.

unosarta
2008-06-08, 01:10 AM
for any one who might know what would the mechanics for a fleche [fencing] would be? im a newbie but it would make sense for it to have to do with a charge or something.

thanks in advance!:smallsmile:

[no sabreists!:smallbiggrin:]

Icewalker
2008-06-08, 01:43 AM
Oooh, a fleche...hmm...

Isn't there a feat for a run-by attack? I know there is a mounted ride-by attack, if there isn't an unmounted version I guess it'd be simple enough to replicate. Probably just a run-by attack with a rapier.

I've got a character in my campaign world who is a fencer and champion of one of the countries, with a lightning fleche ability where he bolts past someone with a flash of lightning.

unosarta
2008-06-08, 10:39 AM
probably is i dont know. but if there was, what book would it be in?

unosarta
2008-06-08, 10:42 AM
that lightning fleche sounds pretty sweet.

SilentNight
2008-06-08, 10:55 AM
Yeah, definitely a run-by-attack. However, you should get the benefits of charging. I'd actually consider a -4 AC given how easy it is to riposte once you've got the parry.

unosarta
2008-06-08, 11:19 AM
i kinda still dont get the mechanics. so you make a charge attack trying to hit the target, in which case you get a -4 penalty to ac, and when you charge in to hit them, instead of stopping you run past? what about a counter attack on the hand/arm? could you remise?

i think this would be really fun for a gladiatorial campaign that had a duelist as one of the PCs.

Djinn_in_Tonic
2008-06-08, 02:48 PM
A fleche? I'd say it's just a basic spring attack, honestly. Provokes attacks (Attacks of Opportunity or a parry riposte) if performed, as it would in an actual bout. Seems about right to me.

ImpFireball
2008-06-09, 12:45 PM
How about a feat that allows you to charge and move away all in the same round? Could relate to a gladiator class or fighter with prereqs, perhaps.