PDA

View Full Version : Avatar Design Help...please



tape_measure
2006-09-14, 03:36 PM
First and foremost; I do not think of myself as an avatarist by any means. I dabble with the art, but that's about it. In doing so, I've come to a point where I want to pull my hair out from the lack of knowledge I have in designing.

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b63/tapemeasure/Lebby.gif

Lebowski, from The Big Lenowski

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b63/tapemeasure/Gentherbettergif.gif

Genther, from Underdark Uprising.

The problems I'm having are all pertaining to the 'boxey' look they still have.

Hints, tips, or suggestions?

I see a few minor things (eyes too big, hand positions, etc) that I dislike, but those I can correct. It, again, is the general pixelated feel I want to steer away from.

Process I use:

- draw image in Inkscape. (I've tried to d/l Sodipodi, but I keep getting an error when trying to open it. Something about a zlib-1.dll missing, but when I check the files, the .dll is there,)

- export as bitmap
- open in Gimp
- fill in the backgrounds with white
- highlight unwnted background, then ctrl+k to delete
- save as .gif


Any and all help would be very appreciative.
TM

NEO|Phyte
2006-09-14, 03:49 PM
Sophis was having a similar problem, with the images appearing blocky.

This (http://www.giantitp.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=arts;action=display;num=1155369696;s tart=195#197) should be able to solve the problem, as your described steps sound right, but the results aren't.


This (http://www.giantitp.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?action=display;board=arts;num=1156891679;s tart=0#4) post (In the 'getting Sodipodi' section) will be able to help you with the DLL issue.

tape_measure
2006-09-14, 04:00 PM
I'll have to give it a shot when I get back home (at work with no saved files..program...etc.). I think I understand what was trying to be told, but I'll have to goof around and see what comes out.

The latter - There in the tuorial, is abit stating that IF you already have GIMP, you can skip that step. I'm guessing I'll have to D/L the files to get the program to run correctly, huh....crap. i don't have alot of room lef ton the old PC, but I'll give it a shot.


Thanks for the help! I'll see what kind of trouble I cn get myself into and post up here later in the evening.


Thanks again!
TM

NEO|Phyte
2006-09-14, 04:01 PM
The line that it says you can skip refers ONLY to that line. the key steps to solve your issue are 6-8.

tape_measure
2006-09-14, 08:41 PM
http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b63/tapemeasure/Genther.gif

alright....nto getting it.

steps I used.

- made image in inkscape.
- export as bitmap
- load in GIMP
- higlight via the wand, the areas I want to whiten
- once whitened, I press CTRL+K
- save as .GIF

wash, rinse, repeat and the damned thing is still boxy.

NEO|Phyte
2006-09-14, 08:43 PM
Are you creating a white layer and moving it under the main layer, or just paintcanning white into the transparent areas?

tape_measure
2006-09-14, 08:44 PM
umm...no?

NEO|Phyte
2006-09-14, 08:46 PM
*rereads listed steps*

Whats your wand's tolerance set to?

tape_measure
2006-09-14, 08:59 PM
wow...I have no idea as to what your talking about, but I can learn. ;D

NEO|Phyte
2006-09-14, 09:30 PM
on the magic wand tool, there is a slider bar labeled tolerance IIRC. The higher the number, the greater the deviation from the coloration of the clicked location selected by the wand. I'll post a picture when I get home if you're still unsure as to what I'm discussing

Omen
2006-09-14, 09:38 PM
The bottom left button on GIMP willl let you put a white layer into the pic. It will most likely come up on top. You will have to drag the pic up to top so it shows. Then do the wand. Sounds like you are just filling in around the image with white then deleting it with the wand. If you dont get a checkerboard around the pic you probably haven't done the steps correctly. Hope this helps.

tape_measure
2006-09-14, 09:56 PM
Omen had it right. I've been highlight, with the wand, the area that I want to color white. coloring...etc. All leading to the wrong outcome.

Sliderbar - no clue...sorry. I know this must be a pain. *:-[ I've tried to right-click, let the arrow rest on the wand, the only thing that brings up a new window is double clicking. Another window appears titled: Fuzzy Select.
Current settings:
mode: Add to the current selection
Anitialiasing - checked
Select Transparent - checked
select merged - checked
Threshold set to : 15

Omen - The bottom left button is the Draw in Ink button. Unless I'm retarded and you're saying the squares w/ black and white (I think these are background and foreground colors, but I really don't know what I'm talking about, so...)

Thanks alot guys! I don't have words that can really translate the appreciation in your patience. *;D

EDIT: On a brighter note, I figured out how to get SodiPodi to open!! ;D

Omen
2006-09-14, 10:16 PM
Ok, some screen caps to help out...

Open your picture. It should appear in another GUI (aka window) Then click here on the GIMP main GUI.

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g70/omen_darkwoods/Sketches/GimpBG.gif

This should give you an option to choose a white background and hit ok.

You will have to layers, white probably on top. So you have to drag the pic up as shown here...

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g70/omen_darkwoods/Sketches/Layers.gif

Now you should see your image on a white BG. Select the white BG, just below your pic in the main GUI. It should turn blue.

Use the wand on the white in the picture GUI and you'll get a dotted line. Then [Ctrl}+[k] and the white should turn black/grey checkerboard...

Hope this ironed out some of the confusion. If not just yell. ;)

tape_measure
2006-09-14, 10:22 PM
AhA! There's teh problem. I do not have that screen appearing for me. Meaning, My toolbar does not have the layers (it reminds me of Adobe Photshop in teh at reguards).

Omen
2006-09-14, 10:31 PM
If you double click the wand in the top you should get a screen that looks like this... Hopefully you can read it...

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g70/omen_darkwoods/Sketches/wandsettings.gif

tape_measure
2006-09-14, 10:35 PM
yes. yes I can. The only difference is that I do not have the small layer tab (next to the wand tab at teh very top of the menu.

Should I replicate the settings you have there?

Omen
2006-09-14, 10:38 PM
Its what I use and it is what I pulled from original tutorial, so yes to start with.

tape_measure
2006-09-15, 10:31 AM
well, I got that part resolved.

From what I gunderstand of the version I have, I can add a new layer to the top of teh current picture I have loaded.

- After that, I need to select the areas I want to whiten.
- Whiten, wand, and ctrk+k them.

Is this correct?

Omen
2006-09-15, 06:34 PM
well, I got that part resolved.

From what I gunderstand of the version I have, I can add a new layer to the top of teh current picture I have loaded.

- After that, I need to select the areas I want to whiten.

No, if you use that layer tool at the bottom you get a white layer automatically. You just have to manipulate the layers so the picture is on top.



- Whiten, wand, and ctrk+k them.

Is this correct?

Kinda. Once you have the layers in the right order on the main Gimp GUI, the GUI with the pic will look right.

Select the white layer in the main GUI, and wand the white areas you want transparent in the pic GUI. Then Ctrl + K.

Make sense?

Yarram
2006-09-16, 02:09 AM
on i think its the dialog drop down menu there is a thingy that says LAYERS.

Its about 3 slots from the top.

tape_measure
2006-09-16, 02:39 PM
alright! Guess who may have found the right thing?!

Ok, it was me. Did you guess it?

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b63/tapemeasure/Genther-1.gif

Bam!

Booo! Stupid TM!

Hoooray, Wonderful people with a loy of patients and time to explain very tedious instrucitons!!

You guys were great!! Thanks!

Omen
2006-09-17, 01:49 AM
Great looking avatar BTW ;)