PDA

View Full Version : For Mac Users!



Appolo
2006-08-22, 08:10 PM
hola (hello) is there a nice mac program to use that is free for use in making stick figure people?

Vaynor
2006-08-26, 10:59 PM
Well, if there is, I want it. :P

Shhalahr Windrider
2006-08-27, 12:27 PM
There is The Gimp, sort of an Open Source version of Photoshop. *I believe the tutorial thread has a link. *I'll track it down and post it here, too.

Here it is:
http://gimp-app.sourceforge.net/

And this is the Tutorial:
http://www.giantitp.com/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=arts;action=display;num=1156891679;s tart=90#98

Appolo
2006-08-27, 07:38 PM
i dont have the mac "X11". where can i get that?

Vaynor
2006-08-27, 08:27 PM
Yeah, I was wondering about that. I tried to get it, and it won't let me...

Shhalahr Windrider
2006-08-28, 09:29 PM
i dont have the mac "X11". where can i get that?
Apple's website is great for Mac system-related software. ;)

http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/apple/x11formacosx.html

I'll warn you that X11 is an alternate windowing system. Applications tend to use the Control key in place of the Apple key for shortcuts. It took me a while to get used to Control-C and Control-V to copy and paste.

Flabbicus
2006-08-28, 09:53 PM
It says I have newer software already on the computer.

Vaynor
2006-08-28, 10:48 PM
It says I have newer software already on the computer.
Same with me. :P

Appolo
2006-08-28, 10:52 PM
http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m148/tlabresh/Picture1.png


gyar!

Flabbicus
2006-08-28, 10:59 PM
You know you could have just agreed with us instead of stretching the page with that unnecessary picture? ::)

Vaynor
2006-08-28, 11:02 PM
You know you could have just agreed with us instead of stretching the page with that unnecessary picture? ::)
Seconded. :P

Anyways, I don't want to go in and figure out what newer software exists, delete, then replace it, mostly cause my computer would probably die. I'll just not draw stuff instead...

Appolo
2006-08-29, 10:56 AM
You know you could have just agreed with us instead of stretching the page with that unnecessary picture? ::)


it doesnt stretch the page...it barely fits, but the page isnt stretched.

Flabbicus
2006-08-29, 10:58 AM
it doesnt stretch the page...it barely fits, but the page isnt stretched.

What size do you have your browser on?

Because it does stretch the page horizontally.

Vaynor
2006-08-29, 11:17 AM
Yup, it does. Maybe that's cause my computer is rather small though... :P

Appolo
2006-08-29, 12:03 PM
oh, sorry. i have my settings on the highest resolution, 1280 by 1024...i'll try to shrink the image next time.

Vaynor
2006-08-29, 12:10 PM
Or you could just link it. ;)

MaxMax
2006-08-29, 11:57 PM
You can try Inkscape here (http://www.inkscape.org/download.php?lang=en). ;)

Appolo
2006-08-30, 12:15 AM
doesnt work...it needs that x11 thing

Shhalahr Windrider
2006-08-30, 05:40 PM
Have you tried installing Inkscape or the Gimp without X11? It sounds like your systems came with software that duplicates its functionality

Vaynor
2006-08-30, 06:37 PM
Have you tried installing Inkscape or the Gimp without X11? *It sounds like your systems came with software that duplicates its functionality
It says you need it, and won't let you download it without X11.

Erfderul
2006-08-30, 07:45 PM
well there's this free program, pixen (http://www.opensword.org/Pixen/)

as far as i can tell it's a much better, mac version of paint. Not having a mac, i can't test this out, so i don't know how well it would work for what you want it to. Anyway, it's free, so why not try it!

Vaynor
2006-08-30, 09:53 PM
well there's this free program, pixen (http://www.opensword.org/Pixen/)

as far as i can tell it's a much better, mac version of paint. Not having a mac, i can't test this out, so i don't know how well it would work for what you want it to. Anyway, it's free, so why not try it!
Looks cool! I'll try it out...

EDIT: Hmm, seems harder to make avatars, since it's pixel by pixel art.

Shhalahr Windrider
2006-08-30, 11:10 PM
On X11:

The link I gave was to a version for Mac Panther 10.3. *The "newer software" is probably referring to Tiger 10.4. *And for that:


Note 10.4 customers can install X11 by using the Tiger DVD installer disk.

So X11 is an extra on the Tiger installer disk. I had totally forgotten about that. Sorry.

Flabbicus
2006-08-31, 09:35 AM
I got X11 working, but when I open Inkscape it only has one drop-down menu, and the menu does nothing. :(

Shhalahr Windrider
2006-08-31, 01:08 PM
I got X11 working, but when I open Inkscape it only has one drop-down menu, and the menu does nothing. :(
You mean at the top of the menubar?

You have to have the X11 application in front, so the menubar has an "X11" menu rather than an "Inkscape Menu." Inkscape is actually run inside X11. All the Inkscape-related menus are attached to the windows in X11ómuch as the menus on a Windows machine are attached to the windows.

To see what I'm talking about, look at this picture from the tutorial: http://i32.photobucket.com/albums/d45/_amorelli_/Inkscape%20Guide/Picture1.png. See how the Macintosh OS menubar has an X11 menu, indicating X11 is the currently active application? And the window that says "New Document" has a menu bar with "File," "Edit," "View," "Layer," etc. That's where you do all the work and look for the menus to create and edit documents.

Flabbicus
2006-08-31, 05:25 PM
How do you put Inkscape into the X11 menu?

I tried editing the Applications thing with no success.

Never mind! Got it to work. ;D

patriciaDiaz
2007-03-25, 09:52 AM
How did you get Inkscape to run inside X11? I'm having the same issue that you describe and there's no help anywhere.

Khantalas
2007-03-25, 09:55 AM
Where do you find Panther, anyway?

Inkscape sasys I need Panther installed, and it is on a CD or something - but I can't find it!

I'll try GIMP first, though.

kalirush
2007-03-25, 11:15 AM
Panther is the name for OS 10.4

I use Omnigraffle: http://www.omnigroup.com/applications/omnigraffle/

It is not free, nor is it properly a drawing program. But you can use it unlicensed with the somewhat annoying caveat that you can't have more than 20 objects on a single page... you can get around it by grouping layers as you go, though. I like it; it works pretty well for the kinds of drawing I do. Certainly works great for stick figures.

patriciaDiaz
2007-03-25, 07:39 PM
Well... I reinstalled X11 and reinstalled Inkscape and it now works. No clue why it didn't before

Khantalas
2007-03-25, 07:43 PM
Alright, I have two installation discs. What do I need to install and which disk is it in?