PDA

View Full Version : Immunity to Fear and being Lawful

JellyPooga
2008-11-30, 10:14 AM
Has anyone else noticed that Immunity to Fear (at least as a class feature or other permanent non-magical effect) appears to be the sole property of those of Lawful alignment?

Sure you can blanket effect immunity to mind-affecting with the Undead or Construct type or gain bonuses against fear or gain specific immunity/bonuses (like against a dragons Frightful Presence) and not be Lawful, but I can't seem to be able to find a non-lawful Immunity to Fear.

Does anyone know of a way to gain Immunity to Fear and not be Lawful (at any stage)?

edit: I only want Immunity to Fear by the way. Immunity to Mind-affecting is an option, but it's one I'll only take if there's no other way....

Tequila Sunrise
2008-11-30, 10:27 AM
Can't help you with finding non-lawful immunity to fear, but I can tell you that it's one of the game's sacred cows. Back in 2e when I started playing, lawful NPCs got bonuses to morale checks while chaotic NPCs got penalties. The idea was that lawful personalities believe in something beyond their personal welfare and are therefore more likely to commit to a fight even in the face of imminent death.

Unless your DM buys into that load, you could simply ask him to house rule away the lawful requirement of your favored method of gaining fear immunity.

TS

jcsw
2008-11-30, 10:28 AM
Well, the Non-lawful only Bard gets inspire courage, which is conceptually similar, and gives bonuses against fear.

(Also, what are your available sources...)

Greater Heroism Spells.

Keld Denar
2008-11-30, 10:31 AM
Holy Liberator in Complete Warrior is immune to [Compulsion] and fear at level 3, I do believe. Requires a Chaotic Good alignment.

There are probably a couple of Dragon related features that grant immunity to fear. I'll take a look in Dragon Magic in a sec, but I don't have Races of the Dragon or the Draconomicon.