PDA

View Full Version : Cheap Maps Question

dbmeboy
2008-12-02, 01:51 PM
What would you guys recommend for making maps (4e, if that matters)? Currently the best I can do for making maps is printing out graph paper and drawing them. The problems are that I'm not a great artist and printing maps out on 8.5"x11" paper with one inch grids makes leaves me with not much room before making awkward multi-page maps. I'm currently experimenting with 1 cm square grids, which are nice for map drawing but I suspect will not be so nice once it comes time to play on them. What do you guys prefer for map drawing/displaying in game?

RTGoodman
2008-12-02, 01:57 PM
Go to your local Staples, Office Depot, or other similar store. Buy yourself a sheet of normal poster paper, a yardstick/meterstick, and a Sharpie, and then draw a one-inch square grid on said paper using the Sharpie and yardstick. Tack that back to Staples/wherever and have them laminate it for a couple of bucks. Now, just grab some water-soluble, wet-erase markers and go to town drawing out everything when, conveniently, erases with a little bit of water and a paper towel!

If you don't want to do it yourself, Crystal Caste (http://www.crystalcaste.com/mm5/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Store_Code=CC&Category_Code=CM) and Chessex (http://chessex.com/mats/Battlemats_&_Megamats.htm) both sell some nice vinyl mats with both grids AND hexes, but their a little pricier. Occasionally you can find some with minor defects, and they usually sell those for a LOT cheaper, like these Factory Seconds (http://chessex.com/mats/Battlemats_&_Megamats2nds.htm) from Chessex.

Lord Tataraus
2008-12-02, 02:14 PM