PDA

View Full Version : A couple of rules clarifications...



cavanaht
2008-12-09, 03:38 AM
Spellcraft lets you identify what spell is being cast, right? If a caster successfully spellcrafts a wizard casting an illusion and suddenly a red dragon pops up, would that wizard automatically disbelieve?

Does a monk's belt let you add your wisdom to your AC? It says it acts just like the monk's AC Bonus. Also, since you can punch someone as a monk, do you still provoke attacks of opportunity?

When a dragon uses his breath weapon, he rolls a d4 to see how long he has to wait before he can use it again. If he rolls a 1 does that mean he can use it on his next turn?

Celeres
2008-12-09, 03:46 AM
dunno to the first one.

you still provoke attacks of opportunity, because you don't get improved unarmed strike.

no, he has to wait one turn before he can use it. so after the next round, he can use it.

that's how i perceive them.

BobVosh
2008-12-09, 03:57 AM
I recommend posting these questions here: http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?t=87867

Unsure by raw. Probably not, but will also probably give you a bonus to disbelieve.

Yes. No, you will take AoO.

You have to wait a round.

Kyace
2008-12-09, 04:26 AM
Saving Throws and Illusions (Disbelief) (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/magicOverview/spellDescriptions.htm#shadow)

Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.

A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline.

A failed saving throw indicates that a character fails to notice something is amiss. A character faced with proof that an illusion isnít real needs no saving throw. If any viewer successfully disbelieves an illusion and communicates this fact to others, each such viewer gains a saving throw with a +4 bonus.
Ignore this text

Curmudgeon
2008-12-09, 05:19 AM
There's a thread dedicated to this purpose: look for "Simple Q&A" at the top of the forum.


Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.

A successful saving throw against an illusion reveals it to be false, but a figment or phantasm remains as a translucent outline. A successful Spellcraft check means that you have studied the magic carefully to the extent that you "identify a spell being cast", so you would either automatically disbelieve (if you can connect the illusion to that spell) or at least get to make a saving throw to disbelieve this illusion (and the DM would probably award a circumstance bonus to your save because you know exactly which spell is involved).

Yes, you add your WIS bonus to AC, but with exactly the same limitations as a Monk -- no armor or encumbrance. No, you do not "punch someone as a Monk"; you only receive their unarmed damage if you succeed in hitting them unarmed. You do not gain the Improved Unarmed Strike feat, so your unarmed attacks still provoke AoOs.

The answer to the last question is yes -- but the dragon player shouldn't roll the die; the DM has control over random durations.