PDA

View Full Version : Little DM Tricks

pirateshow
2008-12-10, 01:49 PM
What are your little tricks that help you run your game? Every DM I've played with has had their little tricks that grease the wheels of certain situations, and now that I'm DMing for the first time I'm seeing how useful they can be.

I'm new to DMing, though I've been playing D&D for a bunch of years, and I'm a professional actor in 'real life'. I recently performed in a show where everyone covered a pile of small characters, and got a bit of advice from a fellow actor: for each character, pick a Muppet. As long as you bring that Muppet to mind before stepping onstage, it won't matter that you've got no downtime between characters, because every Muppet is a beautiful package of archetypal character traits that you can use as a jumping-off point. This isn't a good idea for larger roles, but if you're in Hamlet and have to keep diving in and out of Barnardo, Rosencrantz, Laertes, the Player King, and Osric (true story!), you're going to need something to kick you immediately into the right headspace for the next character.

This has proven immensely useful as a DM- picking a Muppet for each NPC that you'll be roleplaying again makes it easy to jump back into that NPC with no warning. And although you won't (or at least don't need to) be impersonating the Muppet in question, thinking of the Baron as Sam the Eagle will bring a certain posture and vocal quality, very different from Scooter the royal page or Pepe the court bard. This little acting trick is helping me keep my NPCs distinct and memorable, and the players have yet to catch on to my method.

What's your trick?

Oracle_Hunter
2008-12-10, 02:24 PM
(1) If you need inspiration, TV Tropes (http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/HomePage).