Originally Posted by tuggyne
The bolded portion is a little unclear: are those examples of acceptable bonuses, or unacceptable? I would have assumed the former except that the other examples are all fairly clearly unacceptable. A bit of rewording might be good just in case.
They are listed as examples of unacceptable bonuses, and for a reason. An armor bonus to an existing set of armor (as the spell Magic Vestments
) is quantitative and applied to equipment, which is acceptable; an armor bonus being given to a creature which does not already have one (as the spell Mage Armor
) is qualitative (unarmored ~> armored) and applies the bonus directly to the player, which is unacceptable.
The only spell I have permitted that explicitly breaks this rule is Create Magic Tattoo
, which sets a dangerous precedent, and may be taken off the list as-is.