Originally Posted by casualcryptic
Holy Symbols are special-slot items. They don't usually take up a slot even if worn. The only real exception to this rule is the reliquary holy symbol from MIC. These are especially powerful and fairly cheap so they take up a neck slot. However it specifically states that they take up a neck slot so it's an exception to the rule. Magic Item Slots are specifically for Magic Items that are slotted. Since the Holy Symbol itself works somewhat like a non-slotted item, it doesn't matter where you put it, though it's technically slotted for a hand like a weapon.
I'd forgotten about those. I suppose I should consider having the symbol made into one when we get the cash, though I suppose by then I'll have other considerations as well.
. . . Actually, are we using MIC rules for item combination? I know it doesn't matter for the purposes of combining a magical wis item and a nonmagical masterwork symbol, but it might matter later on if I want to add any other neck slot stuff (whether reliquary or something else.)