Originally Posted by Curmudgeon
An intelligent mount doesn't get any special treatment. If the rider makes successful Ride checks a mount complies. If the rider is unsuccessful in their checks to control the mount and the mount moves other than as commanded, the rider must succeed on a Stay in Saddle check or fall off.
I may not be able to prove this in rules terms, but I'm certain that if you're making Handle Animal checks to control an intelligent creature, even one of the Animal type (and his question didn't specify that it was), you're doing something wrong. Diplomacy or Intimidate checks maybe.