2006-08-22, 07:03 AM (ISO 8601)
Giant in the Playground
Re: Rules Questions
You may choose not to move the monster, yes. However, you cannot choose to kill the monster, because the result text does not specifically allow you to cause any Wounds. If you don't move a monster, it just stays in the room as if it were a draw.
Originally Posted by red_eagle123
Why he would choose to use the shtick and not take advantage of its movement capabilities is up to the player; I can think of several scenarios. For example, you might want to move Monster A to another dungeon floor (if stairs are present) to weaken a Support-using Monster B for your Attack on your next turn. So you might choose to move Monster A, and not Monster B. Remember that PPI is an area effect, so you can pick and choose which monsters you move and where.
The important point is, you CANNOT cause a Wound with a Battle Shtick unless it specifically says it can cause a Wound. PPI doesn't say that, so it can't be used to kill monsters.
So the card is technically correct as-is, but it is definitely one for the FAQ, as on the surface, it could seem confusing.