View Single Post

Thread: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

  1. Top - End - #257
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Re: A 143
    Quote Originally Posted by killem2 View Post
    But if the standing provoked the AoO, and it caused knock down to trigger, would you leave the turn, with the opponent back in the prone position?
    No. Because you've interrupted the attempt to stand up before the character got out of the prone position, you cannot make them "more prone". And regardless of what you do with the AoO, the character has not used their action and can just stand up normally afterward. Knock-Down allows you to make a trip attempt, but it will always fail if the target is already prone.

    Having already stood up does not provoke attacks of opportunity. It's only beginning to try to stand up that makes you let your guard down.

    A 144
    Diagonals

    When measuring distance, the first diagonal counts as 1 square, the second counts as 2 squares, the third counts as 1, the fourth as 2, and so on.
    You follow the above rule for diagonal measurement, with just one exception:
    Note: Small and Medium creatures wielding reach weapons threaten all squares 10 feet (2 squares) away, even diagonally. (This is an exception to the rule that 2 squares of diagonal distance is measured as 15 feet.)
    Since your question is about Large and Huge creatures, you simply follow the basic diagonal measurement rule.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; 2012-06-03 at 08:41 PM.