View Single Post

Thread: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

  1. - Top - End - #285
    Titan in the Playground
     
    AssassinGuy

    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Sunnydale

    Default Re: Simple Q&A D&D 3.5 (by RAW) XXI

    Re: A 157
    Quote Originally Posted by MrLemon View Post
    Wielding a Bastard Sword in 2 hands makes it a martial weapon.
    That's not what the rule actually says.
    A bastard sword is too large to use in one hand without special training; thus, it is an exotic weapon. A character can use a bastard sword two-handed as a martial weapon.
    "Can" implies an option, not a mandate. Exotic Weapon Proficiency (bastard sword) will allow wielding that weapon with either one or two hands without incurring nonproficiency penalties, despite the lack of martial weapon proficiency for that type of weapon.

    A 158 Ask your DM.

    Contingency doesn't give a lot of guidance for acceptable triggers.
    The conditions needed to bring the spell into effect must be clear, although they can be general.
    Some DMs will refuse to allow game mechanic triggers like rolling initiative, and will limit you to character-observable events such as injury or a successful Spot check.
    Last edited by Curmudgeon; 2012-06-05 at 04:51 AM.