Q 283: The illithid savant prestige class (p77, Savage Species) has class features which include Acquire Skill (Ex):

At 1st level, an illithid savant can acquire one skill known by a creature whose brain he has consumed, chosen at time of consumption. He permanently gains all of the creature's ranks in that skill... even if his new total is more ranks than the illithid savant's character level would normally allow.

At 4th, 6th, and 8th level, the illithid savant can acquire and use one additional skill from a brain.
Does the illithid savant acquire one skill from each brain he eats until level 4, or does he acquire one skill from one brain he eats (at his discretion), at which point any further brains give no additional skill ranks?