1. - Top - End - #22
    Barbarian in the Playground
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Where the Wild Things Are
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Princes of the Sword: A Warblade's Handbook [Under Construction]

    Quote Originally Posted by Runestar View Post
    What I like about martial adepts (and warblades by extension).

    More efficient use of the action economy. A higher lv wizard can move, fire off a spell as a standard action, cast another swift action spell, and still use an immediate action in response to his opponent, such as abrupt jaunt or duelward.
    No he can't. Using an Immediate Action is essentially a Swift Action you can use at any time; it even says in the rules that if you make a Swift action during your turn, you can't make an Immediate Action until the start of your next turn and vice versa.

    Quote Originally Posted by d20 SRD
    d20SRD
    Swift Actions
    A swift action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. You can perform one swift action per turn without affecting your ability to perform other actions. In that regard, a swift action is like a free action. However, you can perform only a single swift action per turn, regardless of what other actions you take. You can take a swift action any time you would normally be allowed to take a free action. Swift actions usually involve spellcasting or the activation of magic items; many characters (especially those who don't cast spells) never have an opportunity to take a swift action.

    Casting a quickened spell is a swift action. In addition, casting any spell with a casting time of 1 swift action is a swift action.

    Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

    Immediate Actions
    Much like a swift action, an immediate action consumes a very small amount of time, but represents a larger expenditure of effort and energy than a free action. However, unlike a swift action, an immediate action can be performed at any time ó even if it's not your turn. Casting feather fall is an immediate action, since the spell can be cast at any time.

    Using an immediate action on your turn is the same as using a swift action, and counts as your swift action for that turn. You cannot use another immediate action or a swift action until after your next turn if you have used an immediate action when it is not currently your turn (effectively, using an immediate action before your turn is equivalent to using your swift action for the coming turn). You also cannot use an immediate action if you are flat-footed.
    Warblades can move, initiate a standard-action strike for respectable damage, mix a swift-action boost into this somewhere (say lightning recovery to reroll that missed hit) and still perform a counter (eg: moment of precise mind vs mind flayer's mindblast) when it is not his turn.
    Same as above. If you take that Swift Action to initiate a boost, you can't use a Counter or another Boost until the start of your next turn. Lets look at an Initiative Count for higher-level understanding!

    Initiative Count
    {table=head]Initiative | Creature
    20 | Enemy 1
    14 |Ally 1
    13 | YOU
    8 | Enemy 2
    2 | Ally 2[/table]

    Alright. Your initiative is 13. If, on your turn, you initiate a Boost maneuver (or use any other Swift action), you can't use an Immediate action until the initiative resets to 20. At this point, you can use an Immediate Action (i.e. a counter maneuver) during Enemy 1's turn or Ally 1's turn. However, if you use an Immediate Action before your turn starts in a given round, then you can't make an Immediate Action or a Swift Action for the remainder of the round. Using the example above, if you use a Counter Maneuver on Enemy 1's turn, you cannot use any more Counters for the remainder of the round and you cannot use a Boost Maneuver under the initiative count resets to 20 again, at which point you can either use another Counter Maneuver if need be or you can wait until your tun to use a Boost.

    Naturally, this also applies to spellcasters who use Swift Actions and Immediate Actions with their spells. For example, you can't cast a Quickened Spell on the same round you cast a Feather Fall, because a Quickened Spell is a swift action and a Feather Fall is an immediate action.

    Hope this helps :D.
    Last edited by Golden-Esque; 2010-11-23 at 03:59 PM.