The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location

    Default 3.5 summoning spell question

    In a recent encounter a Salamander Noble summoned a fire elemental. The Noble was killed a few rounds later. Does the elemental stay until the end of the normal spell duration, or does it go with the death of the caster?

    msquared

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Tavar's Avatar

    Join Date
    Sep 2009

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    Quote Originally Posted by talltwin36 View Post
    In a recent encounter a Salamander Noble summoned a fire elemental. The Noble was killed a few rounds later. Does the elemental stay until the end of the normal spell duration, or does it go with the death of the caster?

    msquared
    The rules are completely silent on the matter of spells ending when their caster dies. You/your dm should make a decision and stick with it.

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Imp

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Manchester NH
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    Seeing as its not concentration it would stay.
    When the end comes i shall remember you.

    I sorry i fail Englimish...(appologise for Spelling/Grammer Errors) Please don't correct my spelling or grammer eaither.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Starbuck_II's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Enterprise, Alabama
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    Agreed, only concentration spells end when death happens.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Volkov's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2009

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    The summoned creature would probably carry out your last order, then it would probably be free to do what it wishes for the remainder of the spell.
    Last edited by Volkov; 2009-09-30 at 03:54 PM.
    "No extra charge!"

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Daemon

    Join Date
    Sep 2007

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    It goes away

    A summoning spell instantly brings a creature or object to a place you designate. When the spell ends or is dispelled, a summoned creature is instantly sent back to where it came from, but a summoned object is not sent back unless the spell description specifically indicates this. A summoned creature also goes away if it is killed or if its hit points drop to 0 or lower. It is not really dead. It takes 24 hours for the creature to reform, during which time it canít be summoned again.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Volkov's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2009

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    That's if it is killed. Not if the summoner is killed.
    "No extra charge!"

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Daemon

    Join Date
    Sep 2007

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    Oops, my bad, then it stays

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    Vortling's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: 3.5 summoning spell question

    I always have them stay. It keeps my players on their toes.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •