Results 1 to 2 of 2
  1. - Top - End - #1
    Pixie in the Playground
     
    BardGirl

    Join Date
    Jan 2010

    Default Feint Question (Pathfinder)

    Under Pathfinder rules, you don't need to be "in melee combat" with an opponent to feint, unlike 3.5.....only that feinting needs to be with a melee weapon. Does this mean you can feint an opponent from a distance (as opposed to being adjacent to them), provided you can reach them for your next attack?

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Ettin in the Playground
     
    Person_Man's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: Feint Question (Pathfinder)

    From the Pathfinder SRD:

    Bluff

    Feint

    You can also use Bluff to feint in combat, causing your opponent to be flat-footed against your next attack. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + your opponent’s base attack bonus + your opponent’s Wisdom modifier. If your opponent is trained in Sense Motive, the DC is instead equal to 10 + your opponent’s Sense Motive bonus, if higher. For more information on feinting, see Combat.
    Combat

    Feint

    Feinting is a standard action. To feint, make a Bluff skill check. The DC of this check is equal to 10 + your opponent's base attack bonus + your opponent's Wisdom modifier. If your opponent is trained in Sense Motive, the DC is instead equal to 10 + your opponent's Sense Motive bonus, if higher. If successful, the next melee attack you make against the target does not allow him to use his Dexterity bonus to AC (if any). This attack must be made on or before your next turn.

    When feinting against a non-humanoid you take a –4 penalty. Against a creature of animal Intelligence (1 or 2), you take a –8 penalty. Against a creature lacking an Intelligence score, it's impossible. Feinting in combat does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

    Feinting as a Move Action: With the Improved Feint feat, you can attempt a feint as a move action.
    So apparently Feinting has no range whatsoever. I imagine that this is an oversight, and not an intentional change in the rules. Also, even if you could Feint from 30 ft away, you wouldn't want to. It only applies to "your next attack" and not a full attack. Even at level 1 with Rapidshot you get 2 attacks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •