The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed
The Order of the Stick: Utterly Dwarfed - Coming in December and available for pre-order now
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: UMD Question...

  1. - Top - End - #1
    Barbarian in the Playground
     
    quiet1mi's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    In the shadows
    Gender
    Male

    Default UMD Question...

    When casting a spell with a wand, what is meant by "on your spell list"?

    In other words... does a bard have to waste use a slot learning cure light wounds in order to use a wand of cure light wounds?
    Spoiler
    Show
    A Fighter/Paladin will just hack you to bits

    A Wizard/Sorcerer will just blow you up with a spell

    A Rogue/Ranger/Monk will just kill you in your sleep

    A Cleric/Druid will just squash you after buffing himself

    A Bard will slowly twist your ethics, corrupt your morals, and make you do vile acts just for the chance to face him. When you fight him, he will have your family and friends fighting for him. For he wields the deadliest weapon against you and that is, his word against yours.

  2. - Top - End - #2
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    Kobold

    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    No, just being on the class spell list in general will suffice.
    **** Photobucket ; RIP avatars

  3. - Top - End - #3
    Ogre in the Playground
     
    Beelzebub1111's Avatar

    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    NJ
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    Quote Originally Posted by quiet1mi View Post
    When casting a spell with a wand, what is meant by "on your spell list"?

    In other words... does a bard have to waste use a slot learning cure light wounds in order to use a wand of cure light wounds?
    On your spell list means that it's on the list of possible spells that you could know.

  4. - Top - End - #4
    Firbolg in the Playground
     
    kamikasei's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    No. Spell list isn't spells known. It means that the spell is listed as a bard spell, or a sorcerer/wizard spell, or whatever.

  5. - Top - End - #5
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Killer Angel's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Lustria
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    ...and this, regardless of the level. Since his first level, a wiz. can use a wand of fireball.

    Quote Originally Posted by quiet1mi View Post
    In other words... does a bard have to waste use a slot learning cure light wounds in order to use a wand of cure light wounds?
    How is this question, related to UMD?
    Last edited by Killer Angel; 2010-02-03 at 11:17 AM.
    Do I contradict myself?
    Very well then I contradict myself. I am large, I contain multitudes. (W.Whitman)


    Things that increase my self esteem:
    Spoiler
    Show
    Quote Originally Posted by Kaiyanwang View Post
    Great analysis KA. I second all things you said
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeYounger View Post
    Great analysis KA, I second everything you said here.
    Quote Originally Posted by Ryu_Bonkosi View Post
    If I have a player using Paladin in the future I will direct them to this. Good job.
    Quote Originally Posted by grimbold View Post
    THIS is proof that KA is amazing
    Quote Originally Posted by PairO'Dice Lost View Post
    Killer Angel, you have an excellent taste in books
    Quote Originally Posted by Eldan View Post
    Historical zombies is a fantastic idea.

  6. - Top - End - #6
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    Devil

    Join Date
    Mar 2008

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    Quote Originally Posted by Killer Angel View Post
    How is this question, related to UMD?
    If it wasn't on his list he'd have to UMD it. So it's a matter of whether or not UMD is necessary.

  7. - Top - End - #7
    Titan in the Playground
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    Quote Originally Posted by quiet1mi View Post
    When casting a spell with a wand, what is meant by "on your spell list"?

    In other words... does a bard have to waste use a slot learning cure light wounds in order to use a wand of cure light wounds?
    It only needs to be on your class list. You don't need to learn it or even be able to learn it. A level 1, spell free paladin may use a wand of cure critical wounds without a problem.

    The UMD skill is only for using scrolls and wands you can't normally use. For example a rogue can use UMD even though he has zero spells on his class list.
    Last edited by ericgrau; 2010-02-03 at 01:59 PM.
    So you never have to interrupt a game to look up a rule again:
    My 3.5e Rules Cheat Sheets: Normal, With Consolidated Skill System
    TOGC's 3.5e Spell/etc Cards: rpgnow / drivethru rpg
    Utilities: Magic Item Shop Generator (Req. MS Excel), Balanced Low Magic Item System
    Printable Cardstock Dungeon Tiles and other terrain stuff (100 MB)

  8. - Top - End - #8
    Dwarf in the Playground
     
    HalflingRogueGuy

    Join Date
    Dec 2006

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    Quote Originally Posted by Beelzebub1111 View Post
    On your spell list means that it's on the list of possible spells that you could know.
    Does that mean that Factotum never need to roll UMD for arcane wands?

  9. - Top - End - #9
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Frosty's Avatar

    Join Date
    Nov 2006

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    Quote Originally Posted by Grushvak View Post
    Does that mean that Factotum never need to roll UMD for arcane wands?
    A factotum doesn't have a spell list. He happens to know a lot of Spell-like ability that just happens to be similar to a lot of stuff wizards do.
    NS2...it's time to evolve again.

  10. - Top - End - #10
    Titan in the Playground
     
    Thurbane's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Terra Australis
    Gender
    Male

    Default Re: UMD Question...

    Ways to use a wand (that I know of):

    • Have a single level in the appropriate class (you don't even have to have a stat high enough to cast the spell, or be high enough level, in the case of Rangers, Paladins, Hexblades and such)
    • Use Magic Device
    • Have the Magic clerical domain (Sorcerer/Wizard spells only)
    • Bind the vestige Karsus (Sorcerer/Wizard spells only)
    Last edited by Thurbane; 2010-02-03 at 09:34 PM.

    Saying that someone reading RAW differently than you is "home brewing or house ruling, but that's fine" doesn't make you right, it just makes you seem pompous.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •